The Telegram | Published on December 09, 2014

Hall of fame getting 3 more names

Randy Bell, Tanny Collins and Stan Marshall made a mark on N.L.'s business community

Three prominent businessmen will join the ranks of the Junior Achievement Newfoundland and Labrador Business Hall of Fame in 2015, it was announced Tuesday night.


In the hall of fame’s 25th year, Charles (Randy) Bell, Bernard (Tanny) Collins and Stan Marshall will have their names added to a list of 73 others who have been named since 1990.





Junior Achievement of Newfoundland and Labrador announces 2015 JA Business Hall of Fame inductees

St. John’s, NL, Tuesday, December 9th, 2014


Junior Achievement of Newfoundland and Labrador is pleased to announce the 2015 JA Business Hall of Fame inductees. The three outstanding business leaders to be recognized at the May 20th, 2015 Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremony at the Delta St. John’s are:


  • Charles Randolph (Randy) Bell, former president and CEO of the Bell Group of Companies
  • Bernard J. (Tanny) Collins, former President of PF Collins International Trade Solutions
  • H. Stanley Marshall, CEO of Fortis Inc.


This is the 25th anniversary of the JA Newfoundland and Labrador Business Hall of Fame.  Since 1990, Junior Achievement has recognized and honoured entrepreneurs who have inspired others through their investment and success in business and community. In addition to celebrating business excellence, the event is Junior Achievement’s signature fundraiser, supporting work that focuses on the development of financial literacy, work readiness and entrepreneurship for youth.


Background Information – JA Newfoundland and Labrador Business Hall of Fame inductees


Charles Randolph (Randy) Bell went to work in the family business, Charles R. Bell Ltd., in 1965. At that time, it was mainly a wholesale distribution business that was started by his father in 1933. Randy embarked on a very successful and aggressive acquisition and growth strategy that resulted in exponential sales growth. During this same period, the number of employees grew from 37 to 426 employees.   Randy was President and CEO of the Bell Group of Companies until his retirement. He is currently Chairman of the Board of the Bell Group.  He has successfully transitioned the individual businesses to his children.


Bernard J (Tanny) Collins.  His grandfather, Patrick Francis, founded PF Collins in 1921 as a one-man operation; Tanny’s father, Bernard Sr., developed the business into a small customs firm. In 1971, shortly after university graduation, Tanny joined the business.  When Tanny took the helm in 1981, PF Collins employed twelve people and was principally an import brokerage and warehousing operation.  During his tenure, Tanny has transformed PF Collins into a trade solutions powerhouse with offices in St. John’s, Halifax and Calgary, employing over 100 staff.   In 2014, Tanny successfully transitioned the business into its 4th generation.  He currently serves as Chairman of the Board of PH Collins International Trade Solutions.


Stanley Marshall, a professional engineer and lawyer, joined Newfoundland Power in 1979 and in 1987 was instrumental in the creation of the utility’s parent company, Fortis Inc. In 1995, he became President and Chief Executive Officer. He retired as President of Fortis Inc. in June of 2014 and will retire as Chief Executive Officer effective December 31, 2014.


Under Stan Marshall’s leadership, Fortis has grown to become a leader in the North American electric and gas utility business. It serves more than 3 million customers across Canada and in the United States and the Caribbean. The Corporation's non-utility investment is comprised of hotels and commercial real estate in Canada.   Headquartered in St. John’s, NL, The Fortis Group of Companies employs more than 10,000 employees.



These three business leaders are being recognized for their excellence in business leadership, outstanding professional achievements and enduring contributions to society. These individuals are all role models for youth, the next generation of leaders.